A MAZE. / Berlin 2015

4th International Independent Videogames Festival - April 22–25, 2015


In 2015, the A MAZE. Award will have five categories: Next to the traditional main prize, A MAZE. wants to celebrate games that usually don’t get recognition at festivals with additional awards and reacts to ongoing trends by introducing the new “Other Dimensions Award”. The international jury has the honorable task to select the winners of the following categories:

The Most Amazing Game Award (3000€)

This award goes to the best game overall - in terms of game play, art, innovation, music, story and interaction. The prize is dedicated to the masterpiece of the selection. Basically, it is the continuation of the previous A MAZE. Award.

Winner 2015:
Winner 2014: Perfect Woman by Lea Schönfelder and Peter Lu
Winner 2013: Spaceteam by Henry Smith (5000€)
Winner 2012: Proteus by Ed Key and David Kanaga (5000€)

Human Human Machine Award (1000€)

This award goes to the best game that can be played by two or more people in the same room (local multiplayer), and includes some digital element – fully analog games won’t be accepted.

Winner 2015:
Winner 2014: Nidhogg by Mark Essen

WTF?! Award (1000€)

The award for games that transport no compromises, reckless art, subversive fun and provoking progression. A MAZE./ is looking for the best glitch, punk, and art games.

Winner 2015:
Winner 2014: Fjords by Kyle Reimersgartin

(NEW) * Other Dimensions Award (1000€)

Will virtual reality become the ultimate standard of how we will experience videogames in the near future? Quite a number of independent game developers and digital artists are discovering this technology as a new way of expression nevertheless if they will ever release their work to a broader audience or not. A MAZE. features that passionated evolution and is looking for the total embodiment in the beauty of an other dimension.

Winner 2015:

Audience Award__

Introduced in 2014, the audience award will return too. The winner will be voted out of the 20 finalists by the spectators during the course of the festival.

Winner 2015:
Winner 2014: Choosatron by Jerry Belich